Are Twix Vegan or Vegetarian?


Twix Vegan

Twix is a bar of chocolate released by Mars, Inc.

It is comprised of a cookie (or “biscuit” in the UK) added to other pastry materials and condiments typically caramel and chocolate, although there are many varieties.1 They typically come in a box of two or four bars.

Is it vegan, or is it vegetarian? Twix bar is meat-free, but it’s not vegan. This includes a number of items made from animals, most of which are based on milk. And, if you’re a Lacto-vegetarian, you should eat the bars because they don’t contain eggs.

It applies to the main bar, the micro edition, and all the flavors I’ve come across.

Why Twix Bars Are Vegetarian but Not Vegan

Twix Contain a Milk Chocolate Coating

Dark chocolate may be vegan, as the name implies, milk chocolate is almost never cruelty-free. The dairy industry removes the various components of milk for use in food products.3 Twix makes use of every current milk product.

The chocolate coating of the Twix bar contains:

  • Sugar
  • Cocoa butter
  • Chocolate
  • Skim milk
  • Lactose
  • Milkfat
  • Soy lecithin
  • PGPR
  • Artificial flavors

Vegetarianism, on either side, doesn’t really prevent the use of dairy products.

At least, Lactovegetarianism, that is one of the most widely practiced types of eating patterns.

Lacto-Ovo veganism (optionally, ovo-lact vegetarianism) requires milk, eggs, and honey.

Vegetarians in Lacto or lacto-ovo camps will consume milk by the gallon so that milk products such as casein and small quantities of dried skim milk are somewhat off-limits for this community.

The great news for Lacto-ovo vegetarians is that you’re going to be able to eat most candy bars. Many animal products widely used in chocolate bars are derived from milk or egg (chocolate milk, sugar, nougat, etc.).

Twix Contains Caramel

There’s a coating of chocolate to compete with.

Caramel seems to be an orange confectionery made by heating simple sugars, which allows them to suffer a browning process.

That sounds simple enough. Ok, the caramelization process probably includes heating milk that browns lactose (single sugar already available in milk).

Once it is heated to around 338 ° F (or 170 ° C), the molecules start to break down and re-form into molecules with a distinctive taste and color.

The caramel content can then be used to make a number of candies, condiments, cakes, and sweets, like nougat, brittle, flan, pralines, crème caramel, crème brûlée, etc.

It is not clear whether Twix probably uses real caramel produced in the way described above.

Rather, highly processed foods such as Twix bars are likely to use certain kinds of caramel-like compounds made from corn syrup and hydrogenated oils.

However, in either case, the caramel-like compound in the bar contains milk in one form or another. Therefore the caramel is another example of why the Twix bar is safe for consumption, but not for vegans.

What About Peanut Butter Twix?

PB Twix was launched in 1983 and has already been sold sporadically over the years.

Is that vegan? The same as the regular Twix candy, the PB variety is vegetarian, not vegan. It’s possible that PB Twix foreshadows the sugar in the ingredients. Although the dense coating of PB displaces all of the caramel, we have a milk chocolate layer to contend with.

Furthermore, the PB variant of the Twix bar includes the following:

  • Milk chocolate (cocoa butter, sugar, skim milk, milk fat, chocolate, soy lecithin, and artificial flavor)
  • Peanuts
  • Wheat flour with folic acid and iron
  • Palm oil
  • Sugar, maltodextrin, and partially hydrogenated plant oil (cottonseed)
  • Cocoa powder processed w/alkali
  • Fully hydrogenated canola and cottonseed oils
  • Natural and artificial flavors
  • Modified food starch
  • Salt
  • Baking soda
  • Corn syrup
  • Soy lecithin (an emulsifier)
  • Propyl gallate (for freshness)

What About Dark Chocolate Twix?

Here, we have the reverse problem: caramel with little or no chocolate milk coating.

The dark chocolate variant of Twix is, therefore, fit for vegetarians, but not vegans.

However, consider the fact that the food industry is only interested in using dairy products in highly processed foods. Dark chocolate is sometimes vegan, but most dark chocolate out there also includes milk in some way or another.

The exception is organic food sold to a healthy-conscious audience.

Hershey’s Dark Chocolate is a perfect example of dark chocolate stuffed with milk. It’s a bit creamier than fresh stuff because of the existence of milk products that help to make your mouth feel soft.

  • Semisweet chocolate (chocolate processed with alkali, sugar, chocolate, milkfat, cocoa butter, an emulsifier, and natural flavors)
  • Sugar
  • Enriched wheat flour (wheat flour with iron and B vitamin fortification)
  • Corn syrup
  • Palm oil
  • Skim milk
  • Dextrose
  • Cocoa powder
  • Salt
  • Soy lecithin
  • Modified food starch
  • Baking soda
  • Artificial flavor

The Best Vegan Twix Alternative

So, lactovegetarians may eat Twix, but what about vegans? How are we going to get our Twix fix?

Ingredients include:

  • Organic unbleached flour
  • Organic unrefined cane sugar
  • Palm kernel oil
  • Sugar
  • Palm oil
  • Organic rice syrup
  • Cocoa powder (natural)
  • Enzyme modified soy protein
  • Dextrose
  • Natural flavors
  • Salt
  • Vegetable glycerin
  • Sunflower lecithin
  • Agar
  • Natural color

As you can see from either the cutaway below, it is almost different from the original: a crunchy shortbread cookie (or biscuit) with such an overlay of rich buttery-tasting caramel (without real butter!), everything covered in a chocolate coating.

Such as the original Twix, it arrives in two sets, thus the term 2fer.

This is because of the vegan status of Twix. Thank you so much for reading.

You may even want to read out the related stories below.

References

  1. Edible Geography: A Cross-Section of Twix. http://www.ediblegeography.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/twix1.jpg
  2. Mars Foodservices. https://www.marsfoodservices.com/product/twix-caramel-cookie-bars
  3. Chandan R. Dairy-Based Ingredients. Eagen Press, 1997.
  4. Categories. https://www.niftynuthouse.com/product.php?productid=851
  5. Twix. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Twix
  6. Twix Peanut Butter Candy Bar 1.68 Oz. All-City Candy – https://allcitycandy.com/products/twix-peanut-butter-3
  7. Twix Dark Cookie Bar 1.79 Oz. All-City Candy – https://allcitycandy.com/products/twix-dark-36
  8. Go Max, Go 2fer. https://gomaxgofoods.com/2fer/

 

Recent Content