Are Triscuits Vegan? (All Vegan Flavors)


triscuits vegan

Triscuits are a well-known form of crackers. One can easily confuse these snacks with Wheat Thins, which are actually very similar to Triscuits. However, these snacks differ very much from each other. Triscuits are known to have a similar texture to that shredded wheat cereal. I get a lot of questions from fellow vegans whether these snacks are 100% suitable for vegans or not.

The important question is, are these Triscuits vegans or not? Well, not all Triscuits are vegan. Most of them are. Triscuits Orignal is vegan, as they are just made of whole grain wheat, plant oils (mostly canola), sea salt, and BHT (for the freshness). But some crackers have other flavors and such that are definitely not for vegans.

In this article, I shall be covering both the vegan and non-vegan flavors, along with a deeper study into its ingredients.

VEGAN TRISCUITS VARIETIES

Basic Flavors: Original, Hint of Sea Salt, and Cracked Pepper

Again, the originals just contain:

  • Whole Grain Wheat
  • Canola Oil
  • Sea Salt
  • BHT for freshness—it’s actually added to the packaging material.BHT is an abbreviation for butylated hydroxytoluene or dibutyl hydroxytoluene.It’s can be utilized as a preservative because it’s a derivative of phenol, and thus has antioxidant properties that prevent rancidity.

BHT is made through chemical processes involving non-animal derived precursors.

It is confirmed to be a vegan product by the Vegetarian Resource Group (VRG).

Cracked Pepper and Hint of Sea Salt are the original plus pepper and salt, respectively. So, they, too are vegan.

Rosemary and Olive

These contain:

  • Whole Grain Wheat
  • Canola Oil and Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Rice Starch and Dried Pea Protein
  • Salt, SugarSpices (w/Rosemary and Celery)
  • Onion Powder
  • Leek Powder
  • Natural Flavor

As you can probably notice, they contain nothing but plant-based products in it. Not even one preservative.

Roasted Garlic

These contain:

  • Whole Grain Wheat
  • Canola Oil
  • Maltodextrin*
  • Salt
  • Garlic Powder
  • Dextrose
  • Natural Flavor

*Maltodextrin refers to molecules composed of chains of glucose.

It’s plant-based and is mostly extracted from corn. Thus, this is vegan too.

Dill, Sea Salt, and Olive Oil

Ingredients for these include:

  • Whole Grain Wheat
  • Canola Oil, Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Rice Starch
  • Sea Salt
  • Dillweed
  • Garlic and Onion Powders
  • Spices and Natural Flavor

It’s 100% plant-based with no artificial additives.

Fire Roasted Tomato

These contain:

  • Whole Grain Wheat
  • Canola Oil, Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Salt
  • Ground Dried Tomatoes
  • Onion and Garlic Powders
  • Spices
  • Paprika
  • Natural Flavors
  • Citric and Malic Acids
  • Malted Barley Flour
  • Rice Starch

Malic acid is a completely organic acid that’s derived from plant foods such as apple

Its also produced synthetically but without animal-derived precursors and is confirmed to be vegan by the VRG.

You might have noticed a certain pattern. The vegan flavors have their original ingredients with a few dried/powdered plant foods. Also, we are yet to encounter honey which is an abundant ingredient in crackers but is non-vegan.

 

Avocado, Cilantro, and Lime

Ingredients for these include:

  • Whole Grain Wheat
  • Canola Oil
  • Sea Salt, Sugar
  • Tomato Powder, Onion Powder
  • Distilled Vinegar Powder
  • Lime Juice Powder
  • Dried Parsley
  • Dried Jalapeno Peppers, Dried Red Bell Pepper
  • Natural Flavor (Contains Celery)

This is suitable for vegans.

NON VEGAN FLAVOURS

Smoked Gouda

These contain the generic ingredients, plus,

several milk products and dairy derivatives.

To be specific, the ingredients include:

  • Whole Grain Wheat
  • Canola Oil
  • Sea Salt, Salt, Sugar
  • Buttermilk
  • Rice Starch
  • Cheddar Cheese Powder (Cultured Milk, Enzymes, Salt)
  • Natural Flavor (Including Smoke Flavor)
  • Gouda Cheese Powder (Cultured Milk, Salt, Enzymes)
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Non-Fat Milk
  • Malted Barley Flour

As you can see, this contains several dairy products. The food production industry rules out the various components of milk to be used in processed foods. Milk has a number of such compounds (mostly fats and proteins) that are capable of imparting useful properties.

In this case, the buttermilk and cheese powders contain cultures that provide the crackers a spicy cheese-like flavor, that many of us enjoy. The proteins found in the non-fat milk improve its texture and its mouthfeel too.

Four Cheese and Herb

These contain:

  • Whole Grain Wheat
  • Canola Oil
  • Maltodextrin
  • Salt, Sugar
  • Whey Protein*
  • Natural Flavor (contains Mustard)
  • Monterey Jack Cheese Powder (Cultured Milk, Salt, Enzymes)
  • Tomato Powder
  • Romano Cheese Powder (cultured Milk, Salt, Enzymes)
  • Dried Parsley
  • Cultured Cream (Cultured Milk, Salt)
  • Dried Distilled White Vinegar
  • Parmesan Cheese Powder (Cultured Milk, Salt, Enzymes)
  • Onion Powder
  • Cheddar Cheese (Cultured Milk, Salt, Enzymes)
  • Spices
  • Non-fat Milk

As you can see, there are far too many milk products in this product. So not vegan.

After all, what should one expect from a name like Four Cheese?

*Whey is a dairy protein. It’s the second most found protein in cow’s milk. With a confusing name as “whey”, it’s not usually obvious to vegans that it’s practically hoarding dairy.

It’s pretty abundant in processed foods so it makes a lot of snack foods non-vegan.

Romano Cheese and Honey

These contain:

  • Whole Grain Wheat
  • Canola Oil
  • Brown Sugar
  • Salt, Sugar
  • Maltodextrin
  • Enzyme Modified Romano Cheese Powder (from Cow’s Milk)
  • Enzyme Modified Parmesan Cheese Powder (Pasteurized Milk, Cultures, Salt, Enzymes)
  • Distilled White Vinegar
  • Honey Powder
  • Natural Flavor
  • Whey Protein

These are also commonly referred to as Romano Cheese (without honey in the description).

A few vegans might not object to honey, but its insect-derived ingredients render it non-vegan.

This also contains cheese, which is off-limits for vegans.

That’s pretty much it for the current status of Triscuits. I could have left out some flavors, as the companies are continuously adding new and limited edition flavors. But, this will provide you a basic idea of mainly avoiding dairy derivatives and honey.

Thanks for reading.

References

  1. Nabisco Triscuit Original Crackers Family Size, 12.5 Oz. https://www.walmart.com/ip/Nabisco-Triscuit-Original-Crackers-Family-Size-12-5-Oz/339347453
  2. Butylated Hydroxytoluene (BHT). https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Butylated_hydroxytoluene
  3. Product Detail: Cracked Pepper and Olive Oil. https://www.snackworks.com/products/product-detail?product=44000050993
  4. Product Detail: Hint of Sea Salt. https://www.snackworks.com/products/product-detail?product=44000051006
  5. Product Detail: Rosemary and Olive. https://www.snackworks.com/products/product-detail?product=44000051013
  6. Product Detail: Roasted Garlic. https://www.snackworks.com/products/product-detail?product=44000051365
  7. Product Detail: Dill, Sea Salt, and Olive Oil. https://www.snackworks.com/products/product-detail.aspx?product=44000051334
  8. Product Detail: Fire Roasted Tomato. https://www.snackworks.com/products/product-detail?product=44000051341
  9. Malic Acid. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malic_acid#Production_and_main_reactions
  10. Triscuit Nabisco Crackers Avocado, Cilantro & Lime (8.5 Oz) from Kroger. https://www.instacart.com/kroger/products/18168053-triscuit-crackers-avocado-cilantro-lime-8-5-oz
  11. Product Detail: Gouda. https://www.snackworks.com/products/product-detail?product=44000051358
  12. Triscuit Crackers, Four Cheese & Herb (8.5 Oz) from Giant Food.  https://www.instacart.com/giant/products/18168058-triscuit-crackers-four-cheese-herb-8-5-oz
  13. Romano Cheese and Honey. https://www.fooducate.com/product/Nabisco-Triscuit-Crackers-Romano-Cheese-And-Honey/5ABA9F43-4996-4AFA-49B9-A3848F5D99B9

Recent Content