Are the baked lays vegan? And about Poppables Lay’s?


Lays is a top-class brand that offers a variety of potato chips and the one which is made with dehydrated potatoes is the most popular among all. One is named as baked lays and the other one is poppables lays.

They help peoples, enjoy the tasty potato chips with low calories and because of this most of the people baked lay’s, Stax, poppables, and Pringles as compared to standard potato chips.

Are the baked lay’s vegetarian? Well, the original baked lay’s are purely vegetarian. We all know that baked lay’s comes in different flavors. Actually, these flavors are non-vegetarian, as they contain several dairy derivatives.

Is Poppables vegetarian? Like baked lay’s, poppables in their original form, are also purely vegetarian but the flavors used are considered as non-vegan because they contain ingredients derived from animals, dairy and honey.

So, below we have mentioned a list of both non-vegan and vegan flavors of Poppables and Baked lay’s and the ingredients used in them.

Vegan varieties:

Baked Lay’s Original Image

https://yourveganjourney.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/11/Baked-Lays.jpg

They mainly contain:

  • Oil of Corn
  • Dextrose and corn starch
  • Sea salt and sugar
  • Little soy lecithin
  • Extracts of Annatto
  • Dried potatoes

Sometimes, people ask me about Annatto, is this really vegan? – Because of its strange name.

Actually, Annatto is an orange-red condiment, used as a food coloring agent. It is extracted from bixa Orellana (achiote tree) seeds, found mainly in the tropical regions of Mexico and Brazil.

It is generally used to give color to food products, but sometimes can also be used for its aroma.

So, Annatto is totally plant-based and thus purely vegetarian.

Poppables Lay’s (sea salt)

Poppables are quite similar to baked lay’s, they just have different shape and puffed with more air.

They mainly contain:

  • Turmeric powder
  • Sea salt
  • Vegetable oil
  • Potato starch
  • Dried potato

This list looks quite short but the list of non-vegan varieties is twice than this.

Non-vegan varieties:

Baked BBQ Lay’s (Flavored potato crisps)

These are considered as non-vegan because of the presence of milk rather than honey. When I say that BBQ is non-vegan, I usually point to honey.

They mainly contain:

  • Vegetable oil (sunflower oil, soybean oil, corn oil)
  • Dried Potatoes
  • Milk
  • Sugar and Salt
  • Garlic powder
  • Onion powder
  • Molasses, acacia gum
  • Spices
  • Yeast, Dextrose, Malt dextrin

10. Annatto extracts, Paprika extracts

You are now wondering, why milk is used for BBQ snacks.

Actually, milk contains essential fat and protein that enhance the taste and texture. The two most abundant proteins casein and whey protein, both help in stabilizing and emulsifying the ingredients.

The tangy flavor of the lay’s comes from the lactose content.

Baked Sour Cream Lay’s & Onion Flavored Lay’s

Well, that’s not surprising- because I have seen many onion-flavored and sour cream snacks without having milk products.

They most contain the following ingredients:

  • Dried Potatoes
  • Whey protein
  • Casein
  • Annatto extracts
  • Citric Acid
  • Onion powder
  • Salt and Sugar
  • Sour cream
  • Corn oil and starch
  • Dextrose
  • Skim milk

So, above you can see that milk is an essential ingredient while preparing this variety of Lay’s.

Poppables Lay’s white cheddar (Flavored potato snacks)

The word cheddar is generally used to raise red flags, but I have found various white-cheddar snacks that do not contain dairy products.

For instance, skinny pop consists of white cheddar flavored popcorn that is purely vegetarian.

But that’s not the case here

They generally contain:

  • Dried Potatoes
  • Starch
  • Whey Protein
  • Vegetable oil (sunflower)
  • Buttermilk and Skim milk
  • Corn oil
  • Lactic acid
  • Lactose, Dextrose, and Maltodextrin
  • Sea salt
  • Garlic and Onion powder, Yeast
  • Turmeric
  • Romano cheese
  • Citric acid

Milk protein is made up of 80% casein and 20% whey protein. So milk has the concentration of whey and casein protein.

Skim milk has milk protein as well as lactose.

The presence of even a single animal ingredient is enough to make a product, non-vegetarian.

Well, I don’t think that the vegan version of this flavor will ever come into the market.

But if they managed to launch a vegan variety of this flavor then we still have 5 more that need to be changed in vegan.

Poppables Honey BBQ

Another non-vegetarian variety is BBQ variety. In this variety, we can enjoy the taste of honey.

They mainly contain:

  • Dried potatoes
  • Potato starch
  • Honey
  • Spices
  • Garlic and Onion powder
  • Brown sugar
  • Molasses
  • Sunflower oil
  • Citric acid and Turmeric
  • Paprika extracts
  • Maltodextrin

Not all vegetarian varieties avoid honey. Some manufacturer includes honey and other not.

I have included this variety in the non-vegan section because mostly they are considered as non-vegetarian.

Poppables Creamy Jalapeño Lay’s

I have two opinions in this case because jalapeno is a plant species, in my own experience, I think it is non-vegan.

The ingredients are:

  • Dried Potatoes
  • Sunflower oil or any other vegetable oil
  • Sea salt and Sugar
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Skim milk
  • Yeast and Dextrose
  • Onion, turmeric, and garlic powder
  • Sour cream
  • Acacia gum
  • Whey protein
  • Buttermilk powder
  • Potato starch
  • Yogurt powder
  • Maltodextrin

So, that’s all for today. Thanks for reading the article.

You can also read the below-mentioned articles for more information.

  1. Bixa Orellana (annato): https://www.cabi.org/isc/datasheet/9242
  2. Annatto: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Annatto
  3. Lay’s baked BBQ: https://www.lays.com/products/lays-baked-bbq-flavored-potato-crisps
  4. Lay’s poppables sea salt: https://www.lays.com/products/lays-poppables-sea-salt-potato-snacks

Recent Content