Are Hi Chews Vegan or Vegetarian?


hi-chew vegan

Hi-Chew is a widespread easy-going and chewy sweetie that’s been around since by-gone days of 1975. If you reckonChewlets, the description of the candy that paves the way for the current form, it’s been around for much longer than that.

Despite the fact, it’s been around for a while, a lot of vegans or vegetarians nurtured up consuming the stuff and want to acknowledge that whether they can linger to do so, post shifting to plant-based nutrition.

Is it vegan or vegetarian? No, Hi-Chews are not considered vegan or vegetarian. Preparationsdiffer, but utmost varieties encompassGelatin. Besides, individual selections enclose insect-derived constituents like honey and Carmine.

What we’ll do here is go through the several components that render Hi-Chews as non-vegan, and even for non-vegetarians.

Why Are Hi-Chews Not Considered Vegan or Vegetarian?

Hi-Chews Contain Gelatin

For instance, the hot mixture encloses:

  • Glucose Syrup and Sugar
  • Vegetable Oil (Palm Kernel Oil and Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil)
  • Gelatin
  • Malic Acid, Citric Acid
  • Natural and SyntheticFlavours
  • Chia Seeds
  • Mango Puree
  • Apple and Pineapple Juice Concentrate, Dragon Fruit Juice
  • Fruit and Vegetable Juice Concentrates (for Colour)
  • Purple Carrot Juice Concentrate (Colour)
  • Sucrose Fatty Acid Esters
  • SurbitonMon Stearate
  • Kiwi Puree
  • Malt Dextrin
  • Honey
  • Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C)
  • Beta-Carotene (Colour)
  • Soy Lecithin

Gelatin is a protein resultant from collagen in animal tissues. It’s a semi-transparent, unscented and distasteful material with a touch of yellow Colour, that’s created by scorching animal’s tissues (bones, skin, bones, ligaments, etc.) in water.

In Contrast to other gelatinous elements, for example, those that plunge into the class of vegetable gums (CMC, gum Arabic etc.), Gelatin has, at all times been animal-derived and henceforth, not once considered being vegan or for vegetarians.

Loads of makers have enthused themselves on to using other replacements, but ostensibly, Hi-Chews has yet to mark the conversion. I’ve rummaged through quite a lot of tags, and this constituent pops up in every single one I’ve come through.

It’s also listed on the Hi-Chew Wikipedia page as a principal factor.

Additional Non-Vegan Ingredients in Hi-Chews

Some Hi-Chews Use Carmine

Not all versions of the candy enclose this preservative.

Perhaps, I came across one twig of Hi-Chew Strawberry Stick that contained:

  • Glucose Syrup and Sugar
  • Hydrogenated Palm Oil
  • Gelatin
  • Natural and Simulated Flavours
  • Citric Acid, DL-Malic Acid
  • Strawberry Juice Essence
  • Emulsifiers (Sucrose Fatty Acid Esters, SurbitonMon Stearate)
  • Concentrated Yogurt
  • Purple Carrot Abstract (Colour)

Not a dash of stuff was in the picture. I brought up this flavour for the reason that strawberry is the kind in which you’d presume to find Carminecarmine.

Nonetheless, I ran transversely along with variety packs that contain the following ingredients:

  • Glucose Syrup, Sugar
  • Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil
  • Gelatin
  • Original and Simulated Flavours
  • DL-Malic Acid, Citric Acid
  • Strawberry Juice from Concentrate, Apple Juice from Concentrate
  • Emulsifiers (Sucrose Fatty Acid Esters, Surbiton Mono Stearate)
  • Orange Juice from Concentrate
  • Natural Shades (Carmine, Beta-Carotene, Purple Carrot Extract)
  • Sodium Lactate Solution
  • FD&C Blue 1.

Also, like Gelatin, it is likewise listed on the Wikipedia page as a common ingredient.

One of the main groupings of artificial dyes is the Azo dye, which includes Red 40 (Allura Red) Yellow 6 (Sunset Yellow), etc.

Azo dyes are considered vegan.

Red 40 hail from pretty standard in fruit-flavoured candies at the moment, so I was astounded to find that Hi-Chews chose for another Red dye known as Red 4 or Carmine, which is derived from beetles.

It’s a perky-red colour ant fashioned from Carmine acid—the compound which is derived from beetles.

It’s not only derived from insects, but its method of production can often contain supplementary animal products like egg whites, fish glue, and Gelatin.

So indeed, Hi-chew is not vegan-friendly.

Optimistically, one day they’ll make the switch to Red 4 which is petroleum-derived and can even be acquired from hybrid species of the genus Fragaria.

Some Hi-Chews Contain Dairy

This one I did not see coming. For some, it’s only enumerated on the Wikipedia page as an item and for some, the fringe flavours like that of strawberry cheesecake.

On the other hand, when perusing the label for Carmine, I came across yoghurt of the plain strawberry variety.

It could be a blunder or typographical error of some sort, but at the very least you should anticipate it being found in any cream-centred flavours.

Yoghurt is a common ingredient in milk-based candies, for it provides a smooth mouthfeel. It also communicates a tangy smack which is appropriate for some flavour profiles.

Some Hi-Chews Contain Stearic Acid

Retain in thoughts that this wouldn’t render the candy be non-vegan by most standards. More on this statement are discussed below.

I did find a new flavour of profile with this particular additive.

Such as, the mango sticks contain:

  • Glucose Syrup and Sugar
  • Hydrogenated Palm Oil
  • Gelatin
  • Mango Puree
  • Citric Acid, DL-Malic Acid
  • Natural and Artificial Flavours
  • Concentrated Yogurt
  • Emulsifiers (SurbitonMon Stearate, Sucrose Fatty Acid Esters)
  • Natural Colour (Beta-Carotene)

Bear in mind that only the severest of vegans would evade a food product because of stearic acid. But, I mentioned it because it’s just one more possibly tricky ingredient in this candy product.

And the ingredient is cited in People for Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA’s) list of animal-derived and animal-derived ingredients.

It is acquired as of fats and oils via saponification of the triglycerides (TGs) that can be a derivative from both plants as well as animals.

It is beheld upon with disbelief because this particular FA is found more in abundance in TGs, traced from animal fats, paralleled to plant oils.

Conversely, several plant sources are remarkably high in the FA, for example, Cocoa butter and Shea butter, where the amounts of stearic acid are found to be around 28–45%.

In any case, stearic acid is the tiniest of our glitches when moving towards to this candy.

That’s it for the vegan and fruitarian prominence of Hi-Chews.

Thanks for understanding.

References

  1. Story – Hi-chew™ https://www.hi-chew.com/story/
  2. Hi-Chew Tropical Mix, Stand Up Pouch,12.7 OZ. https://www.walmart.com/ip/Hi-Chew-Tropical-Mix-Stand-Up-Pouch-12-7OZ/628442859
  3. Hi-Chews. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hi-Chew
  4. Gelatin. https://www.dictionary.com/browse/gelatin
  5. Hi-Chew Stick Strawberry 1.76OZ 15CT. https://www.walmart.com/ip/Hi-Chew-Fruit-Chews-Strawberry-1-76-Oz/10451593
  6. Hi-Chews – Strawberry, Green Apple, and Orange. https://www.fooducate.com/product/Hi-Chew-Fruit-Chews-Strawberry-Green-Apple-Orange/D6919AE6-E117-11DF-A102-FEFD45A4D471
  7. Kobylewski, S., Jacobson, M.F., 2010. Food Dyes. A Rainbow of Risks. Center of Science in the Public Interest (Online) http://cspinet.org/new/pdf/food-dyes-rainbow-of-risks.pdf
  8. Bug-Based Food Dye Should Be Exterminated, Says CSPI. https://cspinet.org/news/bug-based-food-dye-should-be-exterminated-says-cspi-20060501
  9. Carminic Acid https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carminic_acid
  10. Carmine https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carmine#Production
  11. Potera, C., 2010. Diet and nutrition: artificial food dye blues. Environ Health Perspect. 118 (10), A428–A431.
  12. Hi-Chew Stick Mango 1.76OZ 15CT. https://www.walmart.com/ip/Hi-Chew-Mango-Fruit-Chews-1-76-Oz/36325344
  13. Animal-derived Ingredients Resource: Living. https://www.peta.org/living/food/animal-ingredients-list/
  14. David J. Anneken, Sabine Both, Ralf Christoph, Georg Fieg, Udo Steinberger, Alfred Westfechtel “Fatty Acids” in Ullmann’s Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry 2006, Wiley-VCH, Weinheim. https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/abs/10.1002/14356007.a10_245.pub2
  15. Stearic Acid Production. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stearic_acid#Production
  16. Beare-Rogers, J.; Dieffenbacher, A.; Holm, J.V. (2001). “Lexicon of lipid nutrition (IUPAC Technical Report)”. Pure and Applied Chemistry. 73 (4): 685–744. https://www.degruyter.com/view/j/pac.2001.73.issue-4/pac200173040685/pac200173040685.xml

Recent Content