Are Egg Rolls Vegan? And About Wrappers?

There are vast amounts of moves in Chinese cooking, and egg moves are of the pan-fried variety regular in American Chinese eateries. A great deal of vegan grew up eating the delicious, exquisite, barrel-shaped hor’s d ‘oeuvres, and need to know whether they can keep on doing as such in the wake of changing to a 100% plant-based eating routine.

Is it accurate to say that they are vegan or vegetarian? Egg rolls can be both vegetarian and vegan yet tend not to be either. Most contain meat in some structure. Incidentally, most don’t contain egg, so in the occasion, an egg roll doesn’t provide meat, it regularly ends up being vegan.

What we’ll do here is go over the different non-vegan/vegan ingredients regularly present in the tidbit, so you’ll recognize what to pay extraordinary mind to. At that point, I’ll list any egg moves available that are reasonable for plant-based eaters.

Egg Roll Ingredients and Their Vegan/Vegetarian Status


Strikingly, notwithstanding the name, it’s not so much a given that an egg roll will contain any egg.

There isn’t typically any egg in the filling, and the wrapper (made of wheat flour) can yet doesn’t generally contain any egg.

With regards to Asian dumplings and wraps, it just relies upon the specific food item. For instance, the wrappers for wontons consistently contain egg as a matter of course, while those for spring roll ordinarily don’t have egg. Egg move wrappers, then again, are all in or all out.

Indeed, it’s not clear where “egg” in egg roll even originated from.

An old 1979 Washington Post article theorized that on the grounds that the Chinese word for “spring” sounds kinda like the Chinese word for “egg”, Americans may have quite recently muddled the words. In any case, this clarification wasn’t generally accepted.

Realize that egg rolls don’t regularly contain egg in the filling; however, the egg is genuinely regular in the wrapper.

On the off chance that you’re an ovo-or Ovo-Lacto veggie-lover, at that point, you don’t have to stress over it, yet in case you’re vegetarian, you should vet every item and menu offering for the egg.

Meat Fillings

Things being what they are, in the event that egg isn’t regular in the filling, at that point, what is?

Fortunately, cabbage is the principal ingredient. Truth be told, I don’t think I’ve stumbled into an egg move without the verdant green.

In case you’re incredibly fortunate, your preferred eatery will serve egg moves with cabbage and other plant-based ingredients (flavours, and so forth.) as the sole ingredient.

The cabbage wasn’t generally the principle highlight of egg rolls. For instance, a 1938 cookbook, Cook at Home in Chinese, incorporated a formula for egg rolls that called for bamboo shoots, scallions, water chestnuts, broil pork, shrimp, salt, MSG, palm oil, sugar, and pepper.

Yet, out of the blue, cabbage is the go-to ingredient in egg rolls nowadays.

While cabbage is the one ingredient that you’ll unquestionably discover in the food item, all things considered, most egg moves your experience will have a blend of cabbage and meat—commonly hacked pork or chicken.

This is particularly valid in American Chinese food.

Truth be told, most egg move definitions depict the food item as a flavorful, round and hollow, roll loaded up with hacked pork, destroyed cabbage, and different fillings enveloped by a wheat flour skin, which is seared in hot oil.

On the off chance that meat is available, at that point it precludes the food item for both vegetarians and vegans.

Meat-Based Sauces

You can generally forego the sauce, so this one is certainly not a serious deal. In any case, realize that some sauce presented with egg rolls can contain animal ingredients.

Egg rolls are generally presented with plant-based sauces, for example, soy or plum, however, can be served nearby duck sauce.

Hot and Sour sauce is likewise regular, which can contain chicken juices.

Commercial Vegan Egg Rolls

Vegan egg rolls (with no meat) are a lot simpler to discover, yet I managed to run down two or three brands that discard every animal item (likely on mishap).

The underneath is both locally acquired varieties. I’d envision that the more significant part of you are hoping to eat egg moves at Chinese Buffets. Almost certainly, the vast majority of the egg abounds in standard Chinese eateries are non-vegetarian, as most will contain egg as well as meat.

Your most solid option is to examine explicit Asian cafés that have a vegetarian and vegan menu.

Cohens Food Cohens Egg Rolls

The wrappers of egg rolls generally include:

  • Vital wheat gluten
  • Soybean and water oil
  • Ascorbic Acid and Citric Acid
  • Yellow 5 or 6
  • Potassium Sorbate

The filling includes:

  • Sesame seeds and oil
  • Carrots, peppers, celery and onions
  • Napa cabbage or cabbage
  • Teriyaki Glaze Sauce—Soy Sauce (Water, Wheat, Soybean, Salt), Water, Sugar, Modified Food Starch, Vinegar, Dehydrated Ginger, Onion Juice Concentrate, Garlic Powder, Natural Flavor, Malic Acid, Yeast Extract, Fermented Wheat Protein, Sodium Benzoate
  • Corn starch


Barney’s Egg Rolls

This one has:

  • Soyabean oil
  • Salt
  • Water
  • Citric acid
  • Ascorbic acid
  • Yellow 5 or 6
  • Food starch
  • Potassium Sorbate

The filling includes:

  • Sesame oil and seeds
  • Napa cabbage or cabbage
  • Salt
  • Pepper and ginger
  • Corn starch
  • Modified food starch
  • Teriyaki Glaze Sauce—Soy Sauce (Water, Soybean, Wheat, Salt), Water, Sugar, Modified Food Starch, Vinegar, Dehydrated Ginger, Onion Juice Extract, Fermented Wheat Protein, Sodium Benzoate (as a Preservative)

So, that’s all for the vegan status of egg rolls.

Thank you so much for reading.

Check out the below links for related articles


  1. Copycat Takeout Egg Rolls. –
  2. Egg Roll Wrappers. Gourmet Sleuth –
  3. Original Egg Roll.
  4. Egg Roll Condiments. – General Discussion – Eggs – Page 2. Red chile –
  5. Hot-and-sour Sauce.


Recent Content