Are Clif Bars Vegan? (All Vegan Flavors)


clif bar vegan

The Clif Bar, denoted as CLIF BAR, is your traditional hippy granola bar, which took off for the duration of the initial natural foods movement.

It’s much-loved amid endurance athletes, and vegans are existing clusters, so I get questioned quite over and over again if any aromas are appropriate for 100% plant-based eaters.

Other vegans matured up consuming them as a desirable source of vigor, and want to be acquainted with whether they can carry on to do so after swapping to a lacto-vegetarian diet.

Are they vegan? Yes, Clif Bars are considered mainly vegan. From the milkless chocolate to the plant-based vitamin D fortification, Clif Bars are among the most vegan-friendly of all mainstream food products. The one exception (for most vegans) would be the PB and honey variety.

Subsequently, mostly all, but one of the Clif Bars are well-thought-out be vegan by majority criterion, we’ll go through ingredient scrutiny for the most prevalent flavors to provide you a blameless notion as to why the products are generally considered vegan.

Vegan Clif Bar Flavours

Chocolate Chip

This is undoubtedly the most iconic one. This is one more way of saying it’s one of the most common types you’ll find at fuel stations.

It encompasses:

  • Organic Brown Rice Syrup, Organic Cane Syrup
  • Organic Rolled Oats, Organic Roasted Soybeans
  • Soy Protein Isolate, Rice Flour, Organic Soy Flour, Organic Oat Fiber
  • Cane Sugar, Sea Salt, Barley Malt Extract
  • Unsweetened Chocolate, Cocoa Butter
  • Organic High Oleic Sunflower Oil
  • Natural Flavours, Soy Lecithin, Organic Cinnamon
  • Minerals: Di-calcium Phosphate, Magnesium Oxide
  • Water-Soluble Vitamins: Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C), Niacinamide (Vitamin B3), Thiamine Mono-nitrate (Vitamin B1), Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Cyanocobalamin (Vitamin B12)
  • Fat-Soluble Vitamins: DL-Alpha Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Ergo-calciferol (Vitamin D2)*, Beta Carotene (Vitamin A)

*Ergo-calciferol (vitamin D2) is not to be confused with chole-calciferol (vitamin D3).

Luckily, Clif Bars contain the former. Ergo-calciferol is resultant from fungus or yeast. It’s mainly manufactured synthetically by tracing ergo-sterol from ergot (a type of mold) and radiating the compound utilizing UV light.3

So, it’s never derived from animals and thus always remains vegan.

Cholecalciferol (D3), on the contrary, is derived from lanolin, which is waxy stuff secreted by wooled animals (like sheep).

Plant-centered vitamin D3 is on no occasion used to fortify processed foods. It’s commonly put in specialty products like vegan-friendly D3 supplements.

Crunchy Peanut Butter

Ingredients for this one include:

  • Organic Brown Rice Syrup
  • Organic Rolled Oats, Organic Cane Syrup
  • Organic Peanut Butter, Peanuts, Peanut Butter
  • Organic Roasted Soybeans, Soy Protein Isolate
  • Rice Flour, Organic Soy Flour, Organic Oat Fiber
  • Natural Flavours, Barley Malt Extract, Sea Salt
  • Standard vitamin and mineral fortifications including vitamin D2

As you can see, Clif Bars make hefty use of brown rice syrup. This is a good update for the reason that honey is a trendy part of granola bars. This goes for granola bars, in particular, but exclusively for the peanut butter range. Let’s agree, PB, along with honey, is a well-perceived combination.

Honey has a tendency to be used for making granola bars, call for that you take a lot of small ingredients and make them stick together, in a unified mass of grains, nuts, and seeds. It also permits producers to promote their health products as “all-natural” as opposed to a binder identical to high fructose corn syrup.

Whatsoever the purpose, they picked for brown rice syrup. I’ll take it.

Oatmeal Raisin Walnut

These contain:

  • Organic Brown Rice Syrup, Organic Cane Syrup
  • Organic Rolled Oats, Barley Malt Extract
  • Organic Raisins, Walnuts
  • Soy Protein Isolate*, Organic Roasted Soybeans
  • Organic Soy Flour, Rice Flour, Organic Oat Fiber, Rice Starch
  • Organic High Oleic Sunflower Oil
  • Natural Flavours, Sea Salt
  • Organic Cinnamon
  • Nutrient Fortifications Including Vitamin D2

*I have been questioned in the by-gone days that whether soy protein is solely vegan.

I’d envisage for the reason that other protein segregates commonly come across on food labels are often dairy-based.

For instance, whey protein is the subsequently most lavish protein in milk and is practically universal on food labels these days.

Soy protein isolate executes much of the equivalent functions (not all but most) in food manufacturing, but you can rest assured that it is 100% vegan-friendly.

Chocolate Chip Peanut Crunch

Ingredients for this flavor consist of:

  • Organic Brown Rice Syrup, Organic Cane Syrup
  • Organic Rolled Oats
  • Soy Protein Isolate
  • Organic Peanut Butter, Peanuts
  • Rice Flour, Organic Soy Flour, Peanut Flour, Organic Oat Fiber
  • Organic Roasted Soybeans
  • Cane Sugar, Unsweetened Chocolate, Cocoa Butter
  • Natural Flavours, Sea Salt
  • Barley Malt Extract, Soy Lecithin*
  • Nutrient Fortifications Including Vitamin D2

Like soy protein isolate, soy lecithin is continuously considered vegan. Guys often ask if it is appropriate for vegans since lecithin can be non-vegan, depending on where it’s sourced—for example, soybeans and egg yolks are mutually abundant sources of the molecule.

The compound is useful in food production because it attracts both fats as well as water molecules, helping ingredients stay beautiful and assorted. It’s also used as a surfactant, which makes foods at ease to work with.

Providentially, it gives the impression; most lecithin is plant-derived these days—it’s usually in the form of soy or sunflower lecithin.

Sweet & Salty Chocolate Chunk w/Sea Salt Clif Bar

This diversity comprehends the usual ingredients minus the nutrient fortifications.

Specifically, they contain:

  • Organic Cane Syrup, Organic Brown Rice Syrup
  • Organic Rolled Oats
  • Soy Protein Isolate
  • Organic Roasted Soybeans, Organic Soy Flour
  • Rice Flour, Organic Oat Fiber
  • Cane Sugar, Natural Flavours, Sea Salt
  • Unsweetened Chocolate, Organic Unsweetened Chocolate
  • Organic High Oleic Sunflower Oil
  • Cocoa Butter, Organic Cocoa Butter
  • Barley Malt Extract, Soy Lecithin

No problems here.

Bar White Chocolate Macadamia Nut

This came as quite a blow. It’s branded as “white chocolate” which usually necessitates the manifestation of milk derivatives.

There usually has to be a definite proportion of cocoa butter (the vegan quota of white chocolate), sugar, and cocoa solids (the non-vegan portion).

The FDA is usually pretty austere, but I presume they set up a way around the labeling strategies.

Ingredients for this one include:

  • Organic Cane Syrup, Organic Brown Rice Syrup
  • Organic Rolled Oats
  • Soy Protein Isolate, Organic Roasted Soybeans
  • Rice Flour, Organic Oat Fiber, Organic Soy Flour
  • Macadamia Nuts
  • Organic Cane Sugar, Sea Salt
  • Cocoa Butter, Organic Cocoa Butter
  • Organic High Oleic Sunflower Oil
  • Natural Flavours
  • Soy Flour
  • Barley Malt Extract
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Nutrient Fortifications Including Vitamin D2

Non-Vegan Clif Bars

This is a shortlist. And the individual product listed at this time probably isn’t considered to be forbidden by all vegans.

It’s not that there’s a massive division in the vegan community about the ingestion of honey, but there doesn’t seem to be a conclusive harmony on the matter either.

I enumerated it as a non-vegan zest, because it is perhaps, considered off-limits by most conventional ethics, and several vegan organizations discard the stuff.

I, for my part, don’t consume honey, but I’m not convinced that if one drinks the stuff, it will render them non-vegan.

Anyway, the Sweet & Salty Peanut Butter & Honey w/ Sea Salt variety contains:

  • Organic Brown Rice Syrup
  • Organic Rolled Oats
  • Organic Honey
  • Organic Roasted Soybeans, Soy Protein Isolate
  • Organic Peanuts, Organic Peanut Flour, Organic Peanut Butter
  • Organic Cane Sugar, Sea Salt
  • Organic Cat Fiber*
  • Organic Soy Flour, Rice Flour
  • Palm Kernel Solids
  • Natural Flavours
  • Organic Cocoa Butter
  • Barley Malt Extract
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Mixed Tocopherols (As a Preservative, not Fortification)

*Cat fiber is listed as an ingredient on numerous websites. I’m heading for go out on a limb and say that it’s not made up of cats… or cat food for that matter cat litter.

I searched high and low and couldn’t work out what it’s referring to. It may be due to some typographical errors. But, again, it is listed on several sites.

That’s it for the vegan status of Clif Bars. Thanks for reading.

References

  1. Clif Bar. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clif_Bar
  2. CLIF Bar®, Chocolate Chip, 2.4 Oz, 12 Ct Energy Bars. https://www.walmart.com/ip/CLIF-Bar-Chocolate-Chip-2-4-Oz-12-Ct-Energy-Bars/23740920
  3. Laura Tripkovic, et al. Comparison of vitamin D2 and vitamin D3 supplementation in raising serum 25-hydroxyvitamin D status: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Am J Clin Nutr. 2012 Jun; 95(6): 1357–1364. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3349454/
  4. Hoppe, Udo, ed. (1999). The Lanolin Book. Hamburg: Beiersdorf. ISBN 9783931146054
  5. Riemenschneider, W.; Bolt, H. M., “Esters, Organic,” Ullmann’s Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry, Weinheim: Wiley-VCH. https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/abs/10.1002/14356007.a09_565.pub2
  6. CLIF Bar® Crunchy Peanut Butter Energy Bars 18-2.4 oz. Bars. https://www.walmart.com/ip/CLIF-Bar-Crunchy-Peanut-Butter-Energy-Bars-18-2-4-oz-Bars/182721230
  7. Clif Bar® Oatmeal Raisin Walnut Energy Bars 6-2.4 oz. Bars. https://www.walmart.com/ip/Clif-Bar-Oatmeal-Raisin-Walnut-Energy-Bars-6-2-4-oz-Bars/12018840
  8. Clif Bar® Chocolate Chip Peanut Crunch Energy Bars 6-2.4 oz. Bars. https://www.walmart.com/ip/Clif-Bar-Chocolate-Chip-Peanut-Crunch-Energy-Bars-6-2-4-oz-Bars/12018839
  9. Clif Bar® Sweet & Salty Chocolate Chunk with Sea Salt Energy Bar 12 ct Box. https://www.walmart.com/ip/Clif-Bar-Sweet-Salty-Chocolate-Chunk-with-Sea-Salt-Energy-Bar-12-ct-Box/597154179
  10. “Title 21 Chapter I Subchapter B Part 163 of the Code of Federal Regulations”. United States Government Publishing Office. 24 February 2017. https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=64ec925fd70dcc3f30f6c45d41315509&mc=true&node=pt21.2.163&rgn=div5#se21.2.163_1124
  11. CLIF Bar White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Energy Bars 12-2.4 oz. Bars. https://www.walmart.com/ip/CLIF-Bar-White-Chocolate-Macadamia-Nut-Energy-Bars-12-2-4-oz-Bars/33731553
  12. Why Vegans Can’t Decide Whether They’re Allowed To Eat Honey. Daniel Engber – https://slate.com/human-interest/2008/07/why-vegans-can-t-decide-whether-they-re-allowed-to-eat-honey.html
  13. The Honey Industry. https://www.vegansociety.com/go-vegan/honey-industry
  14. Clif Bar® Sweet & Salty Peanut Butter & Honey with Sea Salt Energy Bar 12 ct Box. https://www.walmart.com/ip/Clif-Bar-Sweet-Salty-Peanut-Butter-Honey-with-Sea-Salt-Energy-Bar-12-ct-Box/762472156

Recent Content