Are Churros Vegan?


churros vegan

Churros come in unique shapes, different sizes, texture. The churros available in the streets are quite different from those of fast-food chains like Taco Bell. We will find out the vegan status of churros from all sorts.

Are they vegan? Most of the churros are non-vegan. The fresh ones made with pastry dough, are mostly non-vegan, as they contain eggs and milk. The highly-processed varieties may be considered somewhat more vegan-friendly.

Here we will try to find out which types of churros tend to be vegan and which ones use animal products.

Non-Vegan Churros

Fresh Churros Usually Contain Butter and Eggs (Dough)

A churro is a pastry dough that is fried and is often creates problems for vegans. Churros mainly use choux, a kind of a light pastry containing water, flour, butter, and eggs.

It is made without any leavening agent because it makes use of high moisture content to generate steam to puff the pastry.

Both eggs and butter serve many vital functions in pastry dough, which is why these animal products are commonly used in fried pastries like funnel cakes.

Not all types of churro brands use high-quality non-vegan pastry dough, but the restaurants are likely to contain that stuff. The churros served in Spain and Portugal, their country of origin, will, in all probability, use these ingredients.

Many people eat churros as street food when visiting Spanish countries.

Please note that not all churros are thick. E.g., in Spain, churros can be thin, knotted, long or thick. The latter ones are known as Porras in some countries.

Fresh Churros Typically Contain Other Milk Products (Toppings and Fillings)

If you are dining at restaurants with authentic Spanish and Latin American food in Spanish countries or North America, a number of these varieties may be familiar.

In the USA, churros sold at street fairs and theme parks are usually rolled in cinnamon and sugar. They come with dipping sauces and drizzles, which often contain some dairy elements.

Churros are often made with fillings in the regions of Mexico, Cuba, and South America. Such fillings are maybe vegan like fruits like guava in Cuba and chocolate and dulce de leche in Brazil.

Dulce de leche is a confection element of Latin America, which is made by heating sweetened milk slowly to result in a Maillard reaction, which provides it a special flavor, appearance, and color like caramel.

Dulce de leche is non-vegan. This Spanish term means “candy of milk” or “caramel.”

Non-vegan dips and fillings commonly include

  • Champurrado*
  • Hot chocolate
  • Dulce de leche
  • Café con leche**

*Champurrado is a chocolate drink from Mexico. It’s known as atole – a warm and thick beverage. They are prepared with either masa harina, masa de maíz, or cornflour and panela and so plant-based. But the medium used in milk instead of water.

**Café con leche means coffee with milk. Horchata is a creamy coffee beverage that uses plant milk, but it’s quite uncommon for this application.

Moreover, to thicken the drink, the egg is usually added.

Churros are usually glazed with arequipe, a kind of dulce de leche and sweet condensed milk in Venezuela and Colombia.

Sweet condensed milk is just sweetened cow’s milk with its water evaporated out and hence non-vegan.

In Uruguay etc., a churro is served with a filling of melted cheese.

Cajeta, a type of dulce de leche, is served with churros in some areas. It’s a thickened syrup mostly made of sweetened and caramelized goat’s milk.

Ultra-Processed “Churros” (Often Vegan)

Some of these varieties are not considered real churros.

Are Taco Bell Cinnamon Twists Vegan?

Yes, Taco Bell’s Cinnamon Twists are vegan. They have wheat flour, rice flour, yellow cornmeal, salt, sugar, cinnamon, maltodextrin or dextrin, soybean oil, canola oil, and natural flavors.

All of which are vegan-friendly.

Are Cinnamon Toast Crunch Churros Vegan?

Cinnamon Toast Crunch Churros are non-vegan since they contain vitamin D3 derived from lanolin or wool oil. Most vegans avoid such additives, but many consider lanolin D3 as non-vegan.

The ingredients label mentions whole grain wheat, rice flour, sugar, cinnamon, canola oil, salt, dextrose, soy lecithin, trisodium phosphate, and BHT.

We can say that it does contain vitamin D, which makes it off-limits to many vegans, as vegan vitamin D3is lichen-derived and yet to be used for mainstream fortification of D3.

You’ll only find D3 derived from lichen in specialty vegan supplements.

If you are not a strict vegan, this cereal may be an excellent alternative to get your churro fix.

Tres Estrellas Churro Flour Mix

These are vegan.

This box is only the mixture, but when preparing them for your consumption, you can forego the eggs or milk for vegan substitutes.

Ingredients include

  • Enriched Flour (flour, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Nicotinamide, Ferrous Fumarate, Zinc Oxide, Folic Acid)
  • Partially Hydrogenated Vegetable Fat
  • Monocalcium Phosphate
  • Sodium Bicarbonate
  • Iodized Salt
  • Sodium Propionate (preservative)

For some time, Taco Bell offered the real churro, but now it seems to be off their list. We will keep checking, and in case it comes again, we can analyze the ingredients and post the analysis here.

That was the fact file of the vegan status of churros. Thanks for reading.

References

  1. Churros. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Churro
  2. Origen Mítico Del Dulce De Leche Clarín.com – https://www.clarin.com/sociedad/origen-mitico-dulce-leche_0_r1nl5JflRtx.html
  3. Champurrado. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Champurrado
  4. Cajeta. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cajeta
  5. Cinnamon Twists. https://www.tacobell.com/food/sweets/cinnamon-twists
  6. Cinnamon Toast Crunch Churros Cereal. https://www.cinnamontoastcrunch.com/products/cinnamon-toast-crunch-churros/
  7. Tres Estrellas Flour Mix Churros. https://www.instacart.com/shop-and-save/products/255449-tres-estrellas-flour-mix-churros-17-6-oz

 

Recent Content